Felony 4th degree controlled substance charges means the State of Minnesota is accusing you of selling or possessing specific types and quantities of controlled substances.
4th Degree Controlled Substance – Sale
A fourth degree drug sale charge means you are accused of selling, or possessing with the intent to sell, the following:
- A Schedule I, II, or III controlled, but not marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols (THC);
- A Schedule IV or V to someone under 18 years-old;
- A Schedule IV or V controlled substance and employing or working with someone under 18 years-old ; or
- Any marijuana or THC containing substances in a school, park, or public housing zone, or a drug treatment facility (does not include giving away, for no money, less than 42.5 grams).
4th Degree Controlled Substance – Possession
A fourth degree drug possession charge means an accusation of possessing the following:
- 10 or more dosages of phencyclidine or a hallucinogen; or
- A Schedule I, II, or III controlled substance, except marijuana or THC, with the intent to sell it.
CALL DEFENSE LAWYER COLEY GROSTYAN NOW AT 612-747-2254
If convicted of 4th degree drug charge, the maximum punishment is 15 years in prison and/or a $100,000 fine. Most first time offenders are not at risk being sentenced to prison. However, if you are accused of possessing controlled substances while also possessing a firearm, a mandatory minimum 3-year prison sentence would apply under Minnesota law.
Coley Grostyan is an aggressive and experienced defense attorney with a focus on defending serious felony level offenses. Mr. Grostyan’s years of successful criminal defense has given him a reputation of obtaining the best possible outcome for his clients. Call Coley Grostyan today at 612-747-2254.