In Minnesota, someone accused of driving while impaired for the first time within the past 10 years is typically charged with fourth degree DWI, as long as there are no aggravating factors or law enforcement claims you refused to test.
What is a Fourth Degree DWI in MN?
When is driving while intoxicated a misdemeanor DWI?
- Submitted to a chemical test after an arrest;
- .08, but less than .16, blood alcohol content;
- No child under 16 present in the vehicle;
- No prior DWI or DUI convictions within the last 10 years; and
- No alcohol or drug related license revocations within the past 10 years.
Possible 4th Degree DWI Punishment and Consequences
Although jail time is unusual for a first-time DWI, a misdemeanor conviction by definition has a maximum punishment of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. Additionally, a 4th degree DWI conviction can result in a 90 day to one year license revocation. Therefore, it is vitally important for to have a knowledgeable and aggressive DWI attorney like Coley J. Grostyan fighting for you.
CALL 612-747-2254 NOW TO MEET WITH A MN DWI DEFENSE ATTORNEY
Minnesota DWI lawyer Coley J. Grostyan is always accessible and responds to the needs of his clients 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. For confidential and professional representation, contact Coley Grostyan today at 612-747-2254.
Coley Grostyan represents individuals charged with 4th degree DWI, and all other impaired driving related charges in the Twin Cities Minneapolis/St. Paul Area, and all across the State of Minnesota.